Home > Java > The last difference between OpenJDK and Oracle JDK

The last difference between OpenJDK and Oracle JDK

Recently I’ve spent a lot of time investigating font rasterization (a great topic which deserves a separate post). Most applications use font engine which is built into graphics library or widget toolkit. Only few cross-platform applications which badly need to provide consistent text layout (Acrobat Reader, for example) are using their own font engines (like Adobe CoolType). Java platform is one of such applications, since it has its own graphics library. If you are curious take a look at this article comparing font engines, including one from Java platform. From publically available information I understood that OpenJDK uses FreeType library. I thought: “That’s great, I have JDK 1.7 installed so this library must be there, let’s take a look”. But I could not find any traces of freetype.dll in JDK. I was puzzled and tried to find some answers in sources of OpenJDK. Imagine my surprize then I’ve found that Oracle JDK still uses proprietary T2K font library (located in jre/bin/t2k.dll)! Both Oracle JDK and OpenJDK are built from the same sources, and linking to external libraries happens in runtime. There is a logic which checks if JDK is running in “OpenJDK” mode or “Oracle JDK” mode, and, depending on that, loads either FreeType or T2K (see sun.font.FontScaler.java). I thought: “I was always curious about remaining differences between OpenJDK and Oracle JDK, and eventually I’ve found one!”. An interesting thing is how JDK determines in runtime if it is OpenJDK or Oracle JDK. It checks if there is a file for Lucida font in JRE. A long time ago Sun had lots of complains that “write once run anywhere” promise doesn’t actually hold, especially for look and feel. Different systems had different fonts, and sometimes even fonts with same names had different glyph sizes, leading to inconsistent text layout. To fix this Sun have licensed Lucida font for distribution with JRE and made this font default. This font is absent from OpenJDK distribution, and, as I said, this fact causes JDK to link in runtime with FreeType, and to link with T2K otherwise. I was surprized, since I’ve expected a global configuration flag, something like “isOpenJDK”. I thought: “OK, let’s take a look what other specific hacks other sub-systems use to distinguish between OpenJDK and Oracle JDK”. It turned out that there are no other parts where this difference matters. Font subsystem is a last one. So I was a lucky guy, getting directly into it.

Categories: Java Tags: , ,
  1. February 8, 2013 at 6:59 pm

    Reblogged this on Mani's useful blogs and commented:
    Educative blog for our OpenJDK community folks!

  2. December 9, 2013 at 12:00 am

    Reblogged this on My Blog.

  1. May 21, 2014 at 8:54 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

