Home > Old games > The Astyanax

The Astyanax

Today is my lucky day. I’ve finally found that game!

Arcade games were popular in Russia, but most games were locally developed, and were electromechanical, not computer-based. At the beginning of 90-s there were very few places with computer-based arcade games (usually made in Japan or US). Then I’ve got to one such place once I was impressed. I’ve already had my 8 bit ZX Spectrum at home, with palette of 8 colours, and with lots of games. In arcades I was impressed mostly by colourful and reach graphics, because gameplay was the same as in games for my ZX Spectrum. I even had something to compare: “Golden Axe” already existed for ZX Spectrum, and there were an arcade version there. Except “Golden Axe”, there were two games which I liked. Name of one game I remembered: “Hammerin Harry”. And name of another game I forgot.

In modern time, then I investigated console emulation, I’ve discovered that arcade machines also could be emulated, and there is a software for it called MAME. I’ve checked it, and both “Golden Axe” and “Hammerin Harry” were working very well. I even discovered a very good sequel to “Golden Axe”, very beautiful and highly playable game. But I couldn’t remember last game, and, without it, I could not find peace.
But, thanks to effort of people at klov, I’ve finally found it. Recently I was browsing this site, now it has much more screenshots then before, and I quickly found my game. It is called “The Astyanax”. Now I can return to my childish memories. Thanks guys!

Categories: Old games
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

